Thread: Young squirrel behavior question(food and random leaping)

Default Young squirrel behavior question(food and random leaping)

Hi all I'm new to the form but have been stalking it for a few weeks now. I have a young 11 week old fox squirrel named Maiya that my dog found when she was around 4 weeks old. She had a big gash on her face and was bleeding from her nose when I found her and I didn't think she'd make it (on a side note I really think VetRx helped her tremendously - I used this on my chickens for respitory issues and am supprisingly impressed) She perked up the next day and since then she's been on fox valley formula and recently started on rodent block in addition.
    Good news she loves Henry's healthy blocks but she eats every one I put in the cage so I started limiting them to no more than 3 a day (on top of the formula she still takes, what a glutton).
    On to the question - she won't eat any of the healthy veggies listed. I tried arugula, broccoli, blanched broccoli, bok choy, cabbage, mushroom. I know she's still weaning but she won't even nibble on these things. I gave her a small piece of carrot one day that she happily munched on though. Can I be giving her too much rodent block? She's not fat and has always limited her self with eating. I tried limiting the block to get her to explore the veggies but her tummy got so shrunken and she wouldn't eat milk that I didn't want to starve her

Second question - she randomly leaps onto things and flat out misses, I've had to catch her a few times leaping from my shoulder to a potted plant or her cage where she falls short by like a foot or two, is this just normal riskey young squirrel riskey behavior or should I be worried about a problem? She also made a flying leap into my dog the first time she saw him at 10 weeks old when I forgot to close the door. Luckily he's so chill but I have no idea what she was thinking