Thread: Need help identify Chipmunk's illness or disease

Question Need help identify Chipmunk's illness or disease

Hello all, I am new to this forum. Today, I found one of the chipmunks in my backyard has what it looks like an abscess but I am not an expert and need help if that is a wound that will heal over time or it could carry disease that I need to be careful. Attached is a picture of the little cute guy, hopefully an expert can help me identify the issue and provide any remedies.

Thank you very much!Name:  PXL_20210827_172442338.jpg
Views: 79
Size:  191.4 KB

Default Re: Need help identify Chipmunk's illness or disease

Squirrels, including chipmunks, do not carry diseases... except in very rare circumstances... a human needs to worry about.

This chipmunk has a common Botfly Warble. There is "maggot" living in there that will expel itself soon enough. Nothing to be worried about, they are very common in squirrels, rabbits, cows, horses...

3. 4 TSBers pass along the fuzzy thanks to Spanky:

HRT4SQRLS (08-29-2021), stepnstone (08-29-2021), sundoesshine (08-28-2021), TubeDriver (08-29-2021)

Default Re: Need help identifying Towhee's illness or disease

Thank you Spanky! Your information was very helpful and I really appreciate your prompt response. I have another question and I am not sure if this is the right forum for it, but I will ask anyway. We have a towhee bird that looks sick, anyone would be able to shed some light as to its illness? What kind of disease do you think it has? Attached are the pictures. Thank you again.

Name:  signal-2021-08-29-125700_001.jpg
Views: 65
Size:  88.8 KBName:  signal-2021-08-29-125700_002.jpg
Views: 63
Size:  79.8 KB