Thread: paralized

Default paralized

I have been raising a baby squirrel for three months. He has been doing amazing, he loves me. The other day he started dragging his back feet and tail. He has never been outside for fear of a hawk getting him. I don't know what could be wrong please help. I haven't taken him to the vet because I don't think I am supposed to have him but his mother abandoned him and he was going to die.

Default Re: paralized

Quote Originally Posted by ChiChimom View Post
    I have been raising a baby squirrel for three months. He has been doing amazing, he loves me. The other day he started dragging his back feet and tail. He has never been outside for fear of a hawk getting him. I don't know what could be wrong please help. I haven't taken him to the vet because I don't think I am supposed to have him but his mother abandoned him and he was going to die.
    I suspect he has MBD.
    What was or is it's formula your feeding, what all do you feed him?
    Step-N-Stone
    State Licensed
    Wildlife Master Rehabilitator

3. 2 TSBers pass along the fuzzy thanks to stepnstone:

Chickenlegs (01-13-2021), Nancy in New York (01-13-2021)

Here are some links that will provide you more information about MBD. We are here to help.

https://henryspets.com/what-is-metabolic-bone-disease/

https://henryspets.com/emergency-treatment-for-mbd/

Can you post a link of a video of the squirrel showing how it moves?

The diet for a captive squirrel needs to be very different from a wild squirrel in order for the squirrel to be healthy.

https://henryspets.com/healthy-diet-for-pet-squirrels/

Calcium treatment can help to reverse your squirrel's problem if the issue is caused by MBD.