Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Squirrel with mange is struggling

Default Squirrel with mange is struggling

Hi, all!

I'm new to the SquirrelBoard. I live in Michigan and am trying to help a backyard wild squirrel through what I believe is mange. I gave her/him the 1st dose of Ivermectin on Monday, Dec. 14, 2020, and the second dose on Monday, Dec. 21, 2020. Tried to be very careful with the dose - descriptions of the recommended amount vary from source to source from the size of a grain of rice, to what will fit on a pinhead, to 1/2 a drop, to what will fill as "O", so it's difficult to gauge the exact amount to give.

I've also been feeding her for about 2 weeks - mostly walnuts, some with coconut oil, some with peanut butter, some plain, and also Henry's Picky Blocks - a recent add to her diet.

She's perky and has a good appetite. But I'm very worried because she continues to lose fur and is still scratching a lot. And now has some drops of blood on her skin from scratching. I'm attaching a picture of her from today and one from Dec. 15th. On Dec. 15th she still had a little hair on her haunches and a full tail, but now she has no hair on her haunches and is starting to lose fur from the base of her tail.

Should I be doing something different with the doses? Giving her more than what I've been giving her? Giving her a mid-cycle dose less than a week from the last dose?

Any suggestions will be welcomed.
    Attached Images Attached Images   

2. Serious fuzzy thank you's to Geri from:

Buddy (12-23-2020)

Default Re: Squirrel with mange is struggling

Once a week for 3 weeks, size of a grain of rice. That is what I have used for adults and it worked. It does take a while though. I'd say at least 2 weeks before you see any change worth noting.
    "In the midst of our lives we must find the magic that makes our souls soar."