Thread: not a squirrel, but still need assistance...

Default not a squirrel, but still need assistance...

i have a little mockingbird here that a lady found in her backyard... siblings are dead, and the nest was too high to put baby back... from what i can tell, it’s a fledgling... not a lot of flight feathers, and little to no tail feathers, but they’re on their way for sure... i don’t mind taking care of him, but i’m not that experienced in hand rearing songbirds.... i did manage to get a little bit of a wild bird formula mix that i found on the internet into him tho.... maybe one cc....

mix included:
    - 2 tbsp kitten chow, softened with water and mashed
    - 1/4 boiled egg yolk
    1/2 tsp unsweetened applesauce
    water to thin

i didn’t want to over feed him first thing since it’s a new diet.... i do have experience having and handling birds, just not hand raising them... i contacted the songbird rehabber in my area, but unfortunately she is full and cannot take him.... so, it looks like this little guy is stuck with me... obviously, i don’t mind, but i want to be sure i’m doing things correctly.... as for cages, i have a poop ton of cages, so no worries there... i also have a large release cage that i used for squirrels that has an earth floor, so it might be suitable as a release cage.... however, any other advice y’all can give would be helpful... i don’t mean to make this little guy my birdie “guinea pig”, but fate has brought us together, and i want to make the best of it...

Name:  23499E45-8259-4FFE-ADCC-ADD827C9C59F.jpg
Views: 36
Size:  66.2 KB

Default Re: not a squirrel, but still need assistance...