Thread: New to this .... hair loss of wild young squirrel

Hybrid View

Mrsluckyboy Guest

Default New to this .... hair loss of wild young squirrel

This is my first post as I am relatively new to squirrels but need help please. I have been feeding wilds on my balcony for about 3 months now, I have about 20 that visit daily. Amongst them is a young fox squirrel, I am unsure of age but I would guess under 1 year old, as he is the smallest of all our visitors. About two weeks ago I noticed he had hair loss on the nape of his neck, but it is slowly spreading down his upper back. The skin seems a bit red and I was wondering if it is mange? Could anyone pls help to diagnose and advise what I can do to help? I would really appreciate it. The problem is that he or she I am not even sure, is scared and will not come close. Most of my other wilds are trusting and can be hand fed. I managed to get a few pictures but they are not sharp as I had to take them from a distance otherwise he would run. Hopefully they are good enough to tell what is going on with him.
    Thank you so much
    ~Sarah
    Attached Images Attached Images     

2. 2 TSBers pass along the fuzzy thanks to Mrsluckyboy:

Chirps (02-18-2020), RockyPops (02-18-2020)

Default Re: New to this .... hair loss of wild young squirrel

Thanks for trying to help this baby!

Keep checking back here often. Someone will be able to help you!

Hopefully you can medicate some pecan halves or avocado etc. and treat him that way.

4. Serious fuzzy thank you's to RockyPops from:

frankc (02-18-2020)

Hi, Mrsluckyboy, and thanks for caring about these guys!