Thread: Need help with flyer diet

Bam84 Guest

Default Need help with flyer diet

Hi!
    This is my first time posting. I’ve had my southern flying squirrel, Yakko, since the end in July 2019. There is a lot of contrasting information out there about proper diet for a flying squirrel and I’m grateful I have found this because the information iVe found here has already been very helpful.

I’ve been rotating through many different fruits and vegetables, some he likes some he doesn’t touch and I’m worried about giving him too much of one thing. The only things he will consistently eat are nuts and seeds which I try to be sparing with.

The biggest thing I’m trying to figure out is the block food. I have celiac disease and all of the rodent block food I’ve found has wheat or barley in it. With him flying around my room and crawling all over me with crumbs from the food, there’s a good probability that it has contributed to me being ill over the past month. Does anybody have any recommendations? I’d make him food if I could find a recipe. Are there are cat or dog foods that have the nutrients he needs? I can find varieties of those that are gluten free, but no rodent food. Please help.

Default Re: Need help with flyer diet

First--let me say--I know nothing about flyer diets. However; we have two members.... Skul ---and Mrs Skul---who over the years have raised dozens of healthy flyers. They haven't been active & posting for over a year so I do not know if they monitor TSB . Worth a try. If you wish send me a Private message and I can give you their FaceBook info as Skul (Mark) is sometimes on FaceBook. They can answer any diet questions that may arise.
    for the FB info.