Thread: New to squirrels and have first baby

Pamela502 Guest

Default New to squirrels and have first baby

I’m new to squirrels. My husband found a an abandoned wounded baby. I’ve had her for about three weeks now. She has been doing wonderful. I’m assuming she about 8 weeks now. She was good and drinks good. I’ve noticed a small clicking and it makes me think AP. She shows now other signs. She use to do a purring sound while sleeping. It was a fast clicking Now I’ve noticed a small clicking while sleeping. Can I order medicine for her online?

Default Re: New to squirrels and have first baby

Hi Pamela. Welcome

Usually we can get meds from a friend or family member. You only need one pill. Clavamox/augmentin or Baytril/Cipro are the best meds to use. In order to dose the correct amount of medicine we need strength of antibiotics and weight of baby.

Some people have found them in a good quality fish store.

if she has AP you do not have time to order them on line.

We would love to see a picture of your precious sweetheart.
    redwuff
    State Licensed
    Master Wildlife Rehabilitator

3. Serious fuzzy thank you's to redwuff from:

frankc (11-21-2019)

Quote Originally Posted by Pamela502 View Post
    I’m new to squirrels. My husband found a an abandoned wounded baby. I’ve had her for about three weeks now. She has been doing wonderful. I’m assuming she about 8 weeks now. She was good and drinks good. I’ve noticed a small clicking and it makes me think AP. She shows now other signs. She use to do a purring sound while sleeping. It was a fast clicking Now I’ve noticed a small clicking while sleeping. Can I order medicine for her online?
    Did your little one aspirate?

Pamela502 Guest

Here she is
    Attached Images Attached Images    

Pamela502 Guest