Thread: Please help, I don’t know what to do

Question Please help, I don’t know what to do

Hi, so I’m new to squirrel care and I have a question. About a week ago, we had a litter of squirrels fall out of the tree in front of our house and only one survived we took him in, named him Captain and started feeding him PetAg puppy replacer with an unused medicine dropper. His eyes and ears just opened and he’s started exploring. I need help with this: Today, when I got home, he had managed to climb out of his crate and get tangled in a blanket that was left on the floor by one of our kids. There was a string wrapped tightly around his neck and he was scared. We got it cut and I calmed him down for a while. It’s now been roughly 4 hours and he makes this whimpering sound almost like that a puppy makes. I’ve been looking around on here trying to figure out what I can do but I’ve only found that he might be lonely so I’ve been wearing a hoodie backwards and holding him in my hood. He sleeps briefly and whines for what feels like 5 minutes. Nothing I do seems to console him. Do squirrels have nightmares?

Default Re: Please help, I don’t know what to do

Baby squirrels don’t usually whine or whimper. I hope he wasn’t injured. Do you hear a clicking sound when he breathes?

3. Serious fuzzy thank you's to HRT4SQRLS from:

¡Captain! (08-29-2019)

Hi,

Most likely he is whimpering cos he has an injury someplace. How old is? Will you post a picture of him? You can give him infant ibuprofen but we need a weight on him to be able to dose appropriately. Please do not give him anything like that without a proper dose.
    redwuff
    State Licensed
    Master Wildlife Rehabilitator

5. Serious fuzzy thank you's to redwuff from:

¡Captain! (08-29-2019)

This is a link for baby squirrel care. It is 6 pages long.
    https://www.henryspets.com/1-caring-...baby-squirrel/