Thread: How do you know a squirrel can't be let out in the wild

Default How do you know a squirrel can't be let out in the wild

I found this female squirrel in the downtown area I work in. She was jumping on people and freaking them out. So, I let her jump on me and I took her home.
    She was probably 5 or 6 months old then. Well, I've been rehabbing her on my back porch for about 6 months now. She doesnt make squirrel noises, doesn't know how to build a nest and always jumps on me when I open the cage door to clean or feed.
    Is it possible that she just doesnt want to be free?

Default Re: How do you know a squirrel can't be let out in the wild

It’s possible but it’s not too common. Overwhelming, year old squirrels prefer the trees to living with us.

Does she seem normal in other ways? Is she a normal size? Can you post a pic?

By the way, it’s normal for them to jump on us when they are in a cage. Also, in captivity they have no need to nest build.

She is normal in all other squirrel ways. No defects or physical problems.

I thought by now she would have been happy to take off and find a boyfriend. Lol.

I'm on my phone and can't post a picture.
    She looks like your average sized grey squirrel. I've released squirrels in the past with no issues. This little girl seems to be a clinger. I've never had this happen to me before. Usually 3 or so months on the back porch and they are ready to explore and leave on their own.
    I think it's weird that she doesn't make any squirrel noises besides the clicks.
    Should I move the cage to an area of the yard that will let her see other squirrels better?

I would only move the cage if it’s predator proof. Most indoor cages aren’t predator proof.