Thread: Should I be Concerned About This Little Guy?

Woodnight Guest

Default Should I be Concerned About This Little Guy?

I'm new to TSB. Found it while searching for info about squirrels (what are the odds? :-) Anyway, I have a pretty good population of squirrels behind my office that I treat to unsalted walnuts and raw sunflower seeds from time to time. Today, a couple of new additions to the population stopped by and I snapped this shot. Curious what might be up with this little guy? Some kind of a syndrome? Thanks, Woodnight
    Attached Images Attached Images  

2. 2 TSBers pass along the fuzzy thanks to Woodnight:

gunpackingrandma (06-21-2019), Nancy in New York (06-18-2019)

Default Re: Should I be Concerned About This Little Guy?

Oh my. My heart hurts, looking at this little one.

It appears that he is combining dwarfism - not unheard of and we actually have an entire forum dedicated to it: https://thesquirrelboard.com/forums/...astic-Dwarfism with maybe something more - his poor head!

How does he act in comparison to the other squirrels? Is he agile like them or does he sort of fumble and bumble around?

I am shocked to see one this age in the wild. The mamas usually push them out which is why we end up with them. They usually are incapable of surviving in the wild. Give us as much info as you can!

4. 2 TSBers pass along the fuzzy thanks to CritterMom:

gunpackingrandma (06-21-2019), stepnstone (06-18-2019)

Quote Originally Posted by CritterMom View Post
    Oh my. My heart hurts, looking at this little one.

It appears that he is combining dwarfism - not unheard of and we actually have an entire forum dedicated to it: https://thesquirrelboard.com/forums/...astic-Dwarfism with maybe something more - his poor head!

How does he act in comparison to the other squirrels? Is he agile like them or does he sort of fumble and bumble around?