Thread: Broken toe

forkicks Guest

Default Broken toe

Hey everyone. I hope I'm not posting this in the wrong spot. I have an Eastern Grey squirrel that I raised from infancy in the fall. Her name is Kicks. On Saturday she jumped into the drawer of my desk while I was grabbing her a treat out of it, but got her toe caught in a seam in the metal face plate. She flipped out and twisted every which way until she got free, which took only a second or two. her toe is very broken now. It doesn't appear to be a compound fracture, but the toe was upside down immediately after the incident, and is now sideways. I can hear her crying in her nest box occasionally. It's worth noting that I'm from northern Ontario, and vets here won't see squirrels. Is there anything I can do for her?

2. Serious fuzzy thank you's to forkicks from:

LR (01-08-2018)

Default Re: Broken toe

I'm not good with broken toes and things but I do know they can have infant ibuprofen for pain and that a heatpad set on low underneath her cage or wherever she has decided to lay may help. We will need a weight on her if you can get one in order to dose meds. It would also help the Rehabbers to have a good closeup of her toe.

Kicks is a cute name and yes you posted in the right spot!

4. 3 TSBers pass along the fuzzy thanks to LR:

missPixy (01-09-2018), Nancy in New York (01-08-2018)

forkicks Guest

Thank you for responding and for the advice. I have all of those things aside from the picture. Unfortunately it will all have to wait until I'm home from work. She's still pretty quick, even with her injury and she has a black coat, so a good picture might be tough, but I'll do my best.

6. 2 TSBers pass along the fuzzy thanks to forkicks:

Mel1959 (01-09-2018), Nancy in New York (01-08-2018)

Quote Originally Posted by forkicks View Post