Thread: Rehab fail....need advice

Default Rehab fail....need advice

I am new to rehabbing, and think I may have caused one of my babies to imprint. I currently have two squirrels wintering over (Stanley and Tracy) and two 12-ish week olds still inside (Penny and Amber). One of the babies (Amber) has some issues and doesn't seem to "squirrel" very well. I can't quite put my finger on the cause, but I do not think she will be releasable. My issue is with the other baby. I have not separated them and they currently have free run of my bathroom. I spend a lot more time with them than I did Tracy and Stanley as I have been trying to work with Amber.

Penny has become more and more needy. She constantly wants to be on me or whoever goes into the bathroom. I have been unsuccessful in finding another rehabber with a similar aged baby to put her with, but do not want to put her in a release cage alone, especially now that I am worried she is human imprinted.

What would you all recommend at this point? In my state, non releasables are supposed to be euthanized, unless you can get an education animal permit for them. I do not intend to euthanize Amber, but I suppose that is a whole other story.

I hope this all makes sense. It's super late and I'm exhausted, but can't seem to fall asleep.... 😴

2. Serious fuzzy thank you's to Nikkie906 from:

LR (12-02-2017)

Default Re: Rehab fail....need advice

MHO. I wouldn't worry about "imprinting" on them at this point. Just don't let Penny get used to any house pets you may have if you are going to release her. From what I have read, it is not optimal to release a singletons but is done when required. The soft release process will "wild" her right back up.

Now, about Amber.......st art a thread for her and people who know about these things can help you with her.

4. 2 TSBers pass along the fuzzy thanks to LR:

Mel1959 (12-02-2017), Nancy in New York (12-02-2017)