Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Wild squirrels disappearing

Default Wild squirrels disappearing

I'm not sure what has happened but over 20 squirrels have disappeared in the last couple of weeks. July 6th there was almost more squirrels than you could count between my yard and the neighbors closest to me.
    Every morning with my cup of coffee I would watch them traverse the canopy getting ready for breakfast. I went away for 4 days and know that there was food put out daily. Since I've returned on the 9th it's been slowly dawning on me that I haven't been seeing my outside friends.
    Yesterday I watched very closely, I studied all the trees and yards that I could see and saw no squirrels in the morning. Not in the trees or on the ground. I watched where I put the seeds and nuts all day long until dark and only saw 5 squirrels in total. 3 of which came from back in the woods behind my neighbors house. Even the hawks aren't around and they too have been in my yard for years. We've found no bodies, there's been none hit near me. It's like they all just disappeared.
    Has anyone experienced anything like this? I'm baffled and very concerned but have no idea what to look for next.

Default Re: Wild squirrels disappearing

How are your neighbors with squirrels? Any chance they were fed up, caught the squirrels, and shipped them off while you were away?

3. Serious fuzzy thank you's to DarkLies212 from:

PennyCash (07-19-2017)

Milo's Mom is offline Permitted Pennsylvania Wildlife Rehabilitator

Sounds like you've had a predator move in...an owl will make hawks leave.

Top-quality custom cage gear, accessories, blankets, & toys.
    Boutique items are fun, unique, and anything but ordinary.

TSB thread: Auntie MM's Custom Boutique Website: https://auntiemmscb.square.site/ Facebook: Auntie MM's Facebook Page

5. Serious fuzzy thank you's to Milo's Mom from:

PennyCash (07-19-2017)