Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Treating Mange: Wild Female Squirrel, Possibly Still Pregnant/Nursing Her Young

Default Treating Mange: Wild Female Squirrel, Possibly Still Pregnant/Nursing Her Young

A wild female squirrel I'm feeding is either still pregnant or has recently given birth. (It's hard to tell as I throw food to her on the roof below my kitchen window and can't get a good look at her belly.)

In any case, I'm pretty certain she's got mange (she's constantly scratching like a maniac & has patches of fur missing). I've been feeding her since she was a few months old and she's now about a year old. She's scratched a lot in the past, but it's never been like this before (fur missing/bald spots).

There are two other squirrels I feed on a daily basis (the two babies from her previous litter) who are around 5 months old. They don't have mange and there isn't much risk of them eating a nut with Ivermectin on it as their mom is quite territorial and has now decided they aren't allowed to be on the roof when she's there (she chases them away).

The squirrel with mange has never refused a nut, so there isn't much chance of her refusing one with a tiny amount of Ivermectin on it & leaving it for one of the younger squirrels to eat...unless Ivermectin tastes awful.

So, is Ivermectin safe for pregnant squirrels/squirrels who are nursing their young?

If not, is there any other way I can help her get rid of the mange (from a distance)?

Her energy levels are high and she's quite healthy in general, but the mange is driving her crazy. I really want to help her out.

I'm in the UK, so I'm not even sure I can get Ivermectin, but will start researching it if you TSB experts feel it would be safe to give her.

Thanks in advance for your help!

2. Serious fuzzy thank you's to Ekorre from:

KarmaKay (03-21-2017)

Default Re: Treating Mange: Wild Female Squirrel, Possibly Still Pregnant/Nursing Her Young