Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Baby squirrel biting blanket repeatedly & self mutilating front paws

Squirrel Girl Guest

Default Baby squirrel biting blanket repeatedly & self mutilating front paws

I have been rehabbing baby squirrels since 2011. Another rehabber just sent a video of what this little squirrel in her care is doing. He is just biting a blanket over and over and over not resting at all. When she picks him up he is biting on his front paws. I have seen self mutilating due to nerve damage but this is completely different. Have never seen anything quite like this. One person brought up rabies. Since it's almost impossible for a squirrel to even contract rabies I disagree. Anyone out there??? Help!!!

2. Serious fuzzy thank you's to Squirrel Girl from:

Shewhosweptforest (08-23-2016)

Default Re: Baby squirrel biting blanket repeatedly & self mutilating front paws

Quote Originally Posted by Squirrel Girl View Post
    I have been rehabbing baby squirrels since 2011. Another rehabber just sent a video of what this little squirrel in her care is doing. He is just biting a blanket over and over and over not resting at all. When she picks him up he is biting on his front paws. I have seen self mutilating due to nerve damage but this is completely different. Have never seen anything quite like this. One person brought up rabies. Since it's almost impossible for a squirrel to even contract rabies I disagree. Anyone out there??? Help!!!
    Not Rabies! Hungry?

Got pictures or video?

4. 2 TSBers pass along the fuzzy thanks to Daisey007:

Shewhosweptforest (08-23-2016), UDoWhat (08-23-2016)

Default Re: Baby squirrel biting blanket repeatedly & self mutilating front paws

It sounds like this could be associated with pain.
    What's his age, and when does he stop biting....while eating/resting?
    How long has she had him?
    Is there a history on this little one?

6. 3 TSBers pass along the fuzzy thanks to Nancy in New York: