Thread: Need advice on surgery for malocclusion and recommendation about neuter

Question Need advice on surgery for malocclusion and recommendation about neuter

I started rehabbing last summer so I'm pretty new at this - need some advice. I just love helping squirrels.
    I've successfully rehabbed and released two sets, am on the 3rd set which I'm over-wintering and will be releasing the first of March. I live on 5 acres of wooded land surrounded by 60 acres of squirrel haven so I am lucky to be able to release them at my home.
    My issue is with a single male squirrel that was born late in the season that I am currently caring for. A facebook friend found him after an apparent fall. He had a bloody nose from the fall but adjusted well to the Fox Valley formula I offered him. I tried him on solid soft food and noticed he struggled eating a shelled pecan and upon further investigation realized he has severe malocclusion of his upper 2 front teeth. BTW, I named the little guy "Willie".
    Willie is about 11 weeks old now.