Thread: Possible Lice Eggs?

Hybrid View

scibionerd Guest

Default Possible Lice Eggs?

Hi folks,
    Name:  2015-02-16 19.04.41.jpg
Views: 335
Size:  923.9 KB
    I'm a grad student who studies Western gray squirrels in Southern California. Can anyone confirm that this hair sample contains lice eggs?

Thanks,
    Chris

nchls_school Guest

Default Re: Possible Lice Eggs?

I found this picture on a site. it's is lice eggs-nit.

Name:  nit-lice-egg.jpg
Views: 408
Size:  2.9 KB

yes, believe so. Usually on an animal who comes into rehab, without magnification, they look like tiny grains of white sand or rice.
    Island Rehabber
    NY State Licensed
    Wildlife Rehabilitator

"Ancora Imparo" (I am still learning)
    Michelangelo

If you can't afford the vet,
    You can't afford a pet.
    NEGLECT IS ABUSE.

"Better one day in the trees, than a lifetime in a cage."

'...and the greatest of these, is Love. '

Hi Chris,

Welcome!!!

Tell us more about what you are studying with the western grey.

Trysh

scibionerd Guest

Thanks for the responses! At least it's not mange mites. I also sent the pic to a wildlife vet just for another opinion- waiting to hear back.