Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: malocclusions

Default malocclusions

Hello, I am new to squirrel rehabbing since March 2012. I would like to ask the advise of someone who knows quite a bit about this. I have a squirrel now with crooked teeth. We believe she broke her jaw when fairly young. This is all healed now but she is left with issues. Her top incisors are almost parallel to the top of her mouth, not quite but almost and it looks permanent, they are growing to the right. Above the left top incisor she has an open cavity into her nose, she constantly sneezes. Since her top and bottom teeth do not line up her bottom incisors grow long, particularly the left bottom incisor. It has been trimmed several times. Once her tooth was growing almost into her cheek before it was trimmed. She has been given things to help her trim them down but I am wondering is she will be able to be released. That is my main question. I know you do not have the squirrel to look at, but if you could give me some guidelines and thoughts on the subject perhaps it will helps us. We do not want to release her if she will die due to not being able to eat within a short few months. I have researched this, that is how I found the squirrel board. Most say they can not be released. Thank you Slee

Default Re: malocclusions

Bumping so someone that knows, may help.

As always --a pic would help us better in seeing what the real issue is. I have a NR squirrel name Marven that was born with Malocclusion and he had his four front teeth removed at seven months old and he is living a good life with us now and will remain with us for all long as he has --Marven is 1 1/2 years old.