Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: PROPER FEEDING TECHNIQUE!!

Default PROPER FEEDING TECHNIQUE!!

This video, of Costa Rican member stosh feeding his adorable baby Luna, is an excellent example of correct feeding technique. Please watch, note, and remember:

* 1cc syringe, until babies are at least 5-6 weeks old, eyes open

* Baby is held upright - after eyes open they may be fed on all fours if they prefer, on a table or your lap. ALWAYS keep one hand on the baby.

* syringe is angled approx. 45* UP toward baby's mouth

* feed SLOWLY....allow baby to swallow....push SLIGHTLY, then wait

VIDEO:

Last edited by Nancy in New York; 08-08-2014 at 09:56 PM. Reason: Video was not showing up, Stosh resent it to me and I posted.
    Island Rehabber
    NY State Licensed
    Wildlife Rehabilitator

"Ancora Imparo" (I am still learning)
    Michelangelo

If you can't afford the vet,
    You can't afford a pet.
    NEGLECT IS ABUSE.

"Better one day in the trees, than a lifetime in a cage."

'...and the greatest of these, is Love. '

Default Re: PROPER FEEDING TECHNIQUE!!

I find that I have much more control of the syring if I press with the palm of my hand and pinch the sides of the syringe with my fingers. When I tried to feed pressing with my thumb ( like in the movies...ha !) sometimes I would accidentally squirt too much--too quickly...causing a choke or a sneeze.
    Especially if you have a "sticky" syringe that is hard to push....
    I fill 7 or 8 at a time, and some are harder to push than the others. I keep them in a coffee mug of very warm water...
    and because it takes a long time to S-L-O-W-L-Y feed 10 or 12 ccs...and the water starts to cool....I keep a thermos of VERY HOT water close, to add to the syringe mug and maintain a tasty , warm formula. You will notice that a picky eater can sometimes start eating if you change to a WARM syringe.

&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&& &&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&