Thread: aflatoxins

Hybrid View

fly 'second to the right, and straight on till morning'

Question aflatoxins

Like most folks here, I've been following the sudden illness and heartbreaking news about 2ndHand Ranch Rescue's squirrels. I am new to squirrel care and have a question about aflatoxins. Didn't want to ask on her thread, cause feel the energy there should be prayers, healing, and support at this time.

I bought loose mixed nuts at Walmart on Sunday and now will not use them.
    Understand from reading the posts, a little bit about what alfatoxins are, but feel really ignorant about how to protect my squirrel from them.

My question is: What, if anything, destroys these nasties? Do they die if the nuts are frozen? Does heat (ie baking in an oven), after being shelled destroy them?

It's not about saving money, I'll throw the nuts away in a heartbeat. Its about keeping my kiddo safe. Is there something I can do to all the nuts I purchase that would kill the aflatoxins, and do that as a precaution each time? Should all my nuts be stored in the freezer, so that nothing can grow on them?

mpetys Guest

Default Re: aflatoxins

Thanks for asking these questions naturelady1. I've had the same questions running through my head. I buy mixed nuts 50 pounds at a time. What should I do when I bring them home? How should they be stored (lasts several months)?

Good topic especially for us newbies who never worried about nuts or aflatoxins.

Michele

Quote Originally Posted by mpetys
    Thanks for asking these questions naturelady1. I've had the same questions running through my head. I buy mixed nuts 50 pounds at a time. What should I do when I bring them home? How should they be stored (lasts several months)?

Good topic especially for us newbies who never worried about nuts or aflatoxins.

Michele
    Thanks Michele, there's so much to learn...