Thread: 1 very sick baby, 2 sisters. Need help!

Default 1 very sick baby, 2 sisters. Need help!

A client of mine brought four 5 week old squirrels into my work 5 days ago. I am a vet technician so I do have access to a lot more options than most people. I have been feeding them esbilac on a 1/3 to 1 cup water ratio. 2 days ago I did have a scare with 2 of them acting very lethargic and diarrhea, so I started them on probiotics 2-3 times daily and SQ fluids given .5cc's at a time as needed. I lost 1 baby boy this morning and have another who is very close to dying. I have cut back the formula and added more water to try and get rid of the diarrhea. They are kept warm with a heating pad with no problems. Feeding 3-5cc's every 3-5 hours including through the night with a 1cc syringe. I have given sick baby a fair amount of SQ fluids as emergency protocol and also a very small amount of syrup. The other 2 babies are doing well but if I do lose this one I want to make sure to take preventative measures with the other 2. I do have access to Clavamox liquid 62.5mg from my work if this is recommended at all. I am also willing to start them on the special squirrel food if needed. Thanks for any help.

Default Re: 1 very sick baby, 2 sisters. Need help!

You must get these babies off Esbilac formula immediately to stop the diarrhea. Esbilac is no longer recommended for wildlife because it causes diarrhea and in some cases death. Most of the rehabbers here on TSB use Fox Valley Animal Nutrition. The 32/40 formula for eyes closed babies and the 20/50 formula for eyes open babies. It can be order online or over the phone and he will rush ship it for you.

You can use the following formula for a few days until you get the Fox Valley:

Jackie's Goat Milk Recipe
    1 cup goats milk
    1/3 cup heavy cream
    1/3 cup dannon all natural vanilla yogurt

Mix well and keep in a covered plastic or glass container in the refrigerator. Replace after 48 hours.