Thread: cold remedy

luckydoodle Guest

Unhappy cold remedy

Lucky has been what seems like coughing and sneezing for a couple of days. I was wondering if squirrels get colds and what I could do for him if thats what was going on. Otherwise he seems fine very active and wanting to play. Thnx Luckys mom

Default Re: cold remedy

Squirrels can and do get upper respiratory infections. Do you have a squirrel-friendly vet who can take a look at him? Also, check any new scented candles, laundry soap, air fresheners, etc. you may have brought home in the past few days. These can cause coughing and sneezing in squirrels (and humans, too!).
    Island Rehabber
    NY State Licensed
    Wildlife Rehabilitator

"Ancora Imparo" (I am still learning)
    Michelangelo

If you can't afford the vet,
    You can't afford a pet.
    NEGLECT IS ABUSE.

"Better one day in the trees, than a lifetime in a cage."

'...and the greatest of these, is Love. '

luckydoodle Guest

No the vet around here want even look at sugar gliders

I am unable to give any advice, but how is lucky doing?

ShesASquirrelyGirl Guest

If you cannot find a vet that will help, post a location (state) and someone here may know of a vet who is willing to help or a local rehahber or someone on here who might be able to get meds for you. If it is a URI and ignored it can get worse and become life threatening.

luckydoodle Guest

He seems to be doing fine other than the coughing and sneezing, I've never dealt with an animal as small as him that had a cold. When my mastiff Max would get a cold he would act a lot worse than it really was. But Luckys full of energy. As for the candles and such theres nothing new like that around so I dont think thats it. Can they catch a cold from people that are sick?

luckydoodle Guest

I live in NC. I was told that NC doesnt allow people to have exotic animals therefore the vet wont look at them.

PBluejay2 Guest