Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Peanuts

boobookitty. Guest

Default Peanuts

Hello I am new here. I have been feeding the squirrels in my backyard for the last 3 years. I was feeding them a squirrel mix that I would buy at the local grocery store. It has corn, sunflower seeds, other types of small nuts and a few peanuts. The peanuts are their favorite. So I started buying peanuts and they love them. They come up and take them from my hand. Let me tell you they eat a lot of peanuts. Did some research and have read that peanuts may not be good for them. I buy a 25 pound box of peanuts for them and that usually lasts a week. What can I feed them that would be healthier but not too expensive? They are not going to be happy when I no longer have peanuts for them and it will break my heart to take that away from them but I want to feed them something that is healthy and good for them. Thank you in advance for your suggestions.

boo

Default Re: Peanuts

Well, they aren't great for them but the nice thing about the wilds is that they are not relying on them as their principal diet - they are a treat - each one gets a couple a day, maybe not even every day.

boobookitty. Guest