PDA

View Full Version : May have repeatedly aspirated baby?! Help!

JulieP
03-22-2008, 11:13 AM
Hi, I'm totally new to this. My husband shot three squirrels in our yard last Saturday (please don't comment-- I just tell you that because that is how I know Mama is dead) and I found fully-furred eyes-closed baby in yard on Monday evening. I bathed him in warm water, removed all the fleas and fly eggs, gave him pedilyte and wrapped him in a t-shirt placed in a box with a heating pad set on low. The next day, I removed maggots, treated 2 wounds with warm water and hydrogen peroxide and cont. pedialyte. So far so good. On Weds. I started him on diluted Esbilac with a 5 cc syringe. He opened his eyes on Thursday, becoming much more active. Ok, yesterday I noticed when I feed him, he puts his head down and opens and closes his mouth. I thought he was swallowing until last night I realize his is probably aspirating! I tried to feed him slower this morning but I think he is still aspirating the formula. I never see bubbles coming out of his nose, but his heart rate accel. and he puts his head down as a I described. I don't hear wheezing or clicking and he is not breathing open mouthed all the time. What do I do now? I'm afraid I'm drowning him! Help!!
Thanks!

Critter_Queen
03-22-2008, 11:25 AM
Hi Julie,

Usually when a squirrel aspirates they'll blow or dribble formula out their nose. If you haven't seen this, I don't think you've done any damage.

On a somewhat different note, I would suggest using nothing larger than a 3cc syringe just to be on the safe side. The larger the syring the more likely you are to aspirate the baby.

What you are seeing may be what's called a "feeding seizure" but don't let the name scare you. It's like a trance of sorts where they'll so into eating they open their mouth and kinda make a fish-face motion until they snap out of it and go back to eating. Is this what you are seeing?

Also, are you using a nipple? If so, what size, and kind?