PDA

View Full Version : Sudden Illness

susanjeanine
10-03-2007, 11:22 PM
We have a squirrell that suddenly became ill. He wants to move around but it seems like he is having trouble moving his limbs. It started about 7 hours ago. We thought it might have been nuts with sugar on them.

hazel
10-03-2007, 11:39 PM
:Welcome

Sorry the squirrel isn't feeling well. We'll need a lot more information in order to be able to help you.

Wild squirrel or pet?
Adult or baby? How old?
Eating/drinking?

JLFrance
10-03-2007, 11:43 PM
Im new at all of this and Im really sorry to hear about this. Hope all turns out well. I'll be praying:Love_Icon

susanjeanine
10-03-2007, 11:48 PM
He is 4 months old and a pet. He was found at a few weeks old after his home was cut down. He has been very healthy and has not been exposed to anything new except the nuts. He will not eat or drink. Seems like he wants to move but is having trouble moving his limbs.

hazel
10-03-2007, 11:51 PM
Is there any chance that he was injured? Any falls?

What did you feed him as a baby?
What does his diet consist of now?

Apple Corps
10-03-2007, 11:55 PM
Susan - first thought is that your fuzzer may need sugar NOW - they can suffer from low blood sugar and die.

No idea if that is the problem but getting even a very small amount of table sugar in his mouth or on his gums will not hurt. The lining of the mouth will absorb the sugar so he does not have to swallow it.

Apple Corps
10-03-2007, 11:57 PM
Susan - here is hoping your lil fuzzer makes it through the night. Be prepared for a series of questions so we can help you and then you might have to act quickly.

How is he doing now??

susanjeanine
10-04-2007, 12:03 AM