PDA

View Full Version : I've adopted a paralyzed toddler Squirrel! Any underwear advice to prevent UTI?

Chickenninja
04-25-2024, 10:56 PM
Hey y'all! I've been lurking around here for almost a month and am so thankful for all the questions asked and advice given! So to start, I'm a exotic breed chicken farmer so I'm not new to caring for animals but I have zero experience with squirrels. About a month ago I found a young one crawling around on it's front legs but dragging it's back end. After a google search I was pretty sure he was around 10 weeks old. I got out my old birdcage and put him in with a heating pad and a fleece hoodie. He immediately drank the watered down Pedialyte with some crushed tums with the dropper I had on hand. He also ate walnuts and strawberries. I tested his response in his feet, legs and tail over the next several days with no response at all. Everywhere I called would have euthanized him so I decided I'm going to give him the best life I can. He goes to the bathroom on his own and has a very strong upper body and loves to climb and hang from the jungle gym I made for him. We did hit a snag though, a few days ago I started to really notice the smell when he peed and he wasn't eating or drinking as much. I realized he has a UTI so I talked with my country vet and we worked out the dosage for his antibiotics and pain relief. He was so lethargic that I thought I was going to lose him but today he perked up! I want to prevent this happening again if possible so I am looking for suggestions for a way to keep his little man protected as he scoots around. Can I any know ne of ointment or power to keep the skin protected?

supersquirrelgirl
04-25-2024, 11:22 PM
Hi ChickenNinja,

Glad you finally became a TSB Member - Welcome! TSB has many squirrel experts that can help you. Thank you for caring for a para-squirrel with special needs. Its people like you that make the world a better place.

You will get answers in the morning so hang-on.