PDA

View Full Version : New squirrel caregiver , just looking for any tips or advice.

Neesee
08-01-2023, 11:24 AM
Hello. I’m new to baby squirrel care. I’ve always had other animals and pets. Dogs , cats , chickens, horses , bunnies and bearded dragons. On July 21st my mother in laws cat brought up a baby squirrel. We tried to place him back in the general vicinity in a box with a warm “ rice sock buddy “ and played baby squirrel cries on a speaker. We left him out there for over 6 hours but the mother never returned. I’ve also called rehabilitation centers and no one has been able to accept him. So, I’m caring for him and have really enjoyed and grown quite attached to the little guy. I have him on the milk replacement for puppies , and pedialite. His eyes are still closed his ears were closed and close to his head when I got him the ears are now not “ stuck “ to his head anymore , he weighed 53 grams when I got him he’s now at 61 grams so he is thriving. He drinks 5 to 7 cc milk every 3 to 4 hours and 2 to 4 cc of pedialite once a day. I know I have stimulate him to have bowel movements and urinate. When I first started caring for him it took 4 feedings before he urinated but now he goes before and after each feeding. He had good bowel movements each feeding as well. I “ Groom” him with a warm w-tip after each feeding as well. He’s in a good size hatbox with a heating pad on half the bottom. I came across this group while searching for videos on squirrel care. My family and I have came to love the little guy , we’ve named him Tate , we call him Tater. ❤️ Any tips , advice and tricks would be appreciated.

Spanky
08-01-2023, 01:35 PM
I would discontinue the Pedialyte, since it is for humans it has more salts than we should really give squirrels. If he needs hydration, give him just plain water... you can add just a touch of molasses, honey, syrup or sugar (in order of preference) if that is need to get him interested in taking the water.