PDA

View Full Version : Activity Level & Cage Bedding

sleepless
09-25-2007, 01:57 PM
Hi All! My baby is now appx 6 weeks old and up till now I've kept in a very large planter with a heating pad on the bottom and a wadded up blanket filling the rest of it (I'm new to this and neccessity is the mother of all inventions).

Up until know this has worked out great -- he stays in his impromptued home and sleeps all the time except for feedings. Is it normal for him to sleep so much and not be very active?

He did actually crawl out of the planter yesterday so I feel its time to move him to his cage, but what do I use as bedding? (Meaning, do I use Aspen shavings, his blanket, both?)

pamela lee
09-25-2007, 02:02 PM
Old tee-shirts, baby blankets, fleece any of that would be fine, just do not put anything like towels, their little toe nail can get hooked in the loops.
At 6 weeks I don't think he should still be sleeping all the time.

sleepless
09-25-2007, 02:11 PM
He does wander around a little bit after feeding -- how active should he be and what could be the cause of his relative inactivity?

sleepless
09-25-2007, 02:19 PM
Also, I just put the heating pad in the cage but am concerned about him eventually trying to chew the cord -- how long does he need the heating pad for?

pamela lee
09-25-2007, 02:27 PM
I'm not a rehabber but you can quit using the heat once his eyes are open. Some people leave it about a week after that. I don't know about him being lethargic but hopefully a rehabber can give you an answer. Be prepared to answer questions like:
What are you feeding him?
How much are you feeding him?
What about poopies ; color, firmness, regularity?
How long have you had him?

wdarmac
09-25-2007, 02:29 PM