PDA

View Full Version : New owner question-swollen eyes?

a_tom_in_kyoto
09-23-2007, 07:38 PM
My girlf & I just got a chippie a few weeks ago from the pet store she was working at. Shop owner said he was half blind and in need of a good home so...

Thing is, apparently he's being really lethargic and sleepy-my gf, who has him right now so I can't say personally, says he only wakes when she wakes him, eats, then goes back to sleep, and that his eyes are swollen shut.

She'd learned about the importance of keeping him from hibernating from some Japanese chipmunk-owner boards-is that what's happening?

Here's the little guy in happier times:

4skwerlz
09-23-2007, 07:41 PM
How old is your chippie? Was his behavior normal when you first got him? Any details will help. And :Welcome to the Squirrel Board!

TexanSquirrel
09-23-2007, 07:51 PM
:Welcome
I hope someone can help you soon!

a_tom_in_kyoto
09-23-2007, 08:57 PM
Cheers-well as a complete novice at this, I'm not sure what is normal, but yeah, if you mean running around from morning to night then sleeping, he was normal. The area around his right eye was always a little bigger than his left one, and that seemed to be increasing over the past week or so. We thought it was because, since he's a bit blind like I said, he would run into walls whenever we let him out.

Need anything else?

4skwerlz
09-23-2007, 08:58 PM
What is his diet now? Do you know what his diet was in the pet shop? How old is he?

a_tom_in_kyoto
09-24-2007, 02:47 AM
5 months old, used to eat sunflower seeds and cabbage. Now he's eating a store-bought mix of seeds and stuff, plus, at least when he was with me, bits of carrots, lettuce and yogurt. A few ants I think too.

The first pic is of him now, the second is before. Also he appears to have some film over his left eye, though the right appears to be getting better:

a_tom_in_kyoto
09-24-2007, 06:42 AM
Girlfriend just called and said he's barely breathing or responsive. What the hell????