PDA

View Full Version : New squirrel mom

ADeen86
10-03-2022, 01:19 PM
Hello there I am new to being a squirrel mom I have a boy and girl from same litter and was wondering if you could give me any advice on anything and everything. They seem to be about 5 weeks they have all their hair and look pretty healthy. The female -Wilma-opened her eyes up two days ago and the male -Fred-already had his open. We had hurricane Ian come through on Wednesday and I found them the next day I left them at the base of the tree but no mom showed up and we found two more on the roof that didn’t make it. I have been giving them esbilac formula in an eye dropper until i get my delivery on Friday with the nipple and syringe. I fed them every 4 hours except at night I wait until morning feeding. They seem hydrated also they have been peeing by themselves sometimes I stimulate them to pee if they haven’t yet. I have gotten them to poop every day but only once a day so far. Any information would be greatly appreciated. FYI they are grey squirrels.

ADeen86
10-03-2022, 01:27 PM
Here’s a picture of Fred and Wilma

Chirps
10-03-2022, 01:34 PM
Hi! Sounds like you are doing well so far. In my signature is a link to the Baby Squirrel Care guide. It is 6 pages but a quick read. To go to the next page click "next" in upper right of each page. If you still have any questions, please post them here. Also what are you keeping them in, and if possible post pics. We love pics!

Just be careful with the eye dropper, and hold babies so the dropper is angling up and they are above it if that makes sense. You don't want them on their backs like a human infant. There are videos on here of the proper way. The eye dropper may be a bit challenging but sounds like you are managing it. The big concern is them aspirating formula.

Thank you for caring for these babies in the midst of all you are dealing with down there.

ADeen86
10-04-2022, 10:16 PM