PDA

View Full Version : Pinkie grey squirrel in the UK – worried he is not thriving. Can you help?

CheekyHackee
09-24-2022, 02:28 PM
Hi! I’m a complete squirrel newbie and I hope you can help me. I’m based in the UK, so bear with me in terms of what is advised and available here. Ten days ago I found what I think was a two/three day old baby grey squirrel on the pavement. Based on that, we think he is about 12 days old now. His bottom teeth have recently come through and he is getting fur on his body. He still has the stump of his umbilical cord.

When I found him he was really cold and wriggling around. It was just before sundown and given that we could not see a nest anywhere, no mum, but lots of cats around I decided to pick him up and take him to the vet (around the corner). We were lucky that a lovely nurse took pity on him and helped me. She warmed and hydrated him and gave me supplies to feed him at home. Here they recommend Royal Canin powered puppy milk for baby squirrels, so that is what I have been feeding him following his hydration feeds (originally I added some added single cream, to the milk but I dropped that after reading that this may not be ideal for babies).

When I found him he had severe bruising on his head, some small puncture marks on his body and a few days in developed an angry looking infection on his chin. Luckily that cleared up by itself. The bruising on his head cleared too and other than a swelling on his leg (hopefully you can see it in the picture), he seems ok now injury-wise. The nurse thinks that this may have been a result for the fall still. See pictures.