PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Huntington Beach, CA

gonerogue
05-28-2022, 01:21 PM
Good morning_

Introducing myself as I am new to the squirrel board, & thank you to those that run this forum. Your work is much appreciated. Also, a big thank you to the rehabbers who give assistance.

I want to provide a little background for my future situations I will be posting for.

I live very close to the ocean in Huntington Beach, California. The boardwalk has several miles where California Ground Squirrels colonize & live. They are very valued here in HB by many but they are also unvalued (unfortunately) by many dog owners so I have already attempted to save many squirrels from attacks, dog bites & crow attacks. The majority of my postings will be about these squirrels who have been-or may have been-fatally wounded by these attacks. I am obviously familiar with having read many threads by this point a year in, of stabilizing their body temperature, keeping them warm, & in a quiet, dark place in a box covered with a dark towel & not to feed them.

The primary goal of mine is always to keep them alive til the next morning for when the facility that takes wounded wildlife with rehabbers opens but so far I am saddened to report that the majority of the dog & crow attacks that I have attempted to save are done early evening when dog owners walk their dogs after work&leave the squirrel to die after the dog has bitten it & the wildlife center closes at 5pm. I contacted the director this week as I am on the boardwalk daily and would like to get these squirrels immediately to a rehabber & so had hoped for the director to provide names of rehabbers who would want to take the squirrels immediately however she said what I was doing was the right thing but I just want to get these squirrels help quicker to suffer less.