PDA

View Full Version : New Squirrel Mom. I've got questions.

Mom
09-09-2021, 06:40 PM
Became a squirrel mom a few days ago to what I think is a 6 to 7 week old tree squirrel. I've got Tommy on Esbolic every 4 hours at about 10 to 14 ml a feeding depending on how much he wants. I just got some Henry's blocks in the mail and he seemed to enjoy that. I've got a small bowl of water in his cage. When will he need to play with toys, should I change his formula to Fox valley and is there any rehabbers with in 10 hours drive that would take him? I live in eastern Montana. I am not experienced but have become a fast learner. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

cassgrimm
09-09-2021, 09:21 PM
Hi, there!

What exact formula are you using?

Do you know Tommy's weight? Daily weighing is very important to calculate appropriate feeding amounts. Tommy should be getting 5% to 7% of his weight at each feeding.

Pictures of Tommy would be very helpful in order to confirm Tommy's age and assess body condition, hydration, etc.

If Tommy is not already on it, please start him on Esbilac powdered puppy formula. Do not get any other brand. Do not get the liquid. Make sure the expiration date is on or after 10/2021. Prepare according to directions: 1 part formula to 2 parts water. Mix thoroughly and it is ideal to pre-mix the day's batch the evening before to let settle in the fridge overnight otherwise it will have to settle at least a few hours prior to feeding.

If you plan to offer Tommy long-term care I recommend ordering some Fox Valley 20/50 from Henry's and slowly transitioning him onto it.

If you haven't already, please read this 6 part guide on caring for baby squirrels: https://henryspets.com/1-baby-squirrel-care-guide/

Also, you aren't in a high-traffic thread. That may be why there has been a lack of response thus far. Unfortunately, I am unaware of the rehabber situation where you're located. Hopefully, some others can weigh in on that soon.

Mom
09-09-2021, 09:49 PM