PDA

View Full Version : Question about activity level

macytree
09-05-2007, 11:27 PM
I got my baby from a friend who works at a vet last week. From what she said and the pictures listed here, she's between 3 and 4 weeks old. She seems healthy enough, and from what I can tell I'm doing everything right. I wish I'd found this board sooner, but I did do quite a bit of research on my own. What I want to know is how active she should be. I assume that she'll sleep the whole time she's in her nest but she used to be much more active during feeding sessions.

It took me awhile to get the hang of helping her express her bladder and defecate so I'm wondering if she was in more pain before and that's what made her so squirmy. I'm a pro at getting her to go now. Maybe she's just used to me now and doesn't feel the need to jerk all about during feeding and burrow into the couch when we're done. I can't help worrying though.

She eats two to three CCs at each feeding and she eats every 3 to 4 hours except during one 5 hour stretch a day, when we're at work- two days a week. I'd take her with me but it's a brand new job and I can't risk it. I think she's okay though. I'm just worried about her activity level. As soon as she's done eating now she just falls asleep in my hand in whatever position she's in, when before she used to climb all over me until she found the perfect spot to sleep, usually my neck or chest area. Any thoughts?

BTW we're not naming her, as I'm trying not to make her a pet. I love her to pieces though. I'm worried about releasing her as I live in an apartment complex so the soft release will be difficult.

Mars
09-06-2007, 10:12 AM
Sounds like baby is warm, well fed, peed, pooped and pooped out:D Falling asleep in your hand is a sign that everything is all right. It's a sign of trust. Baby no long feels it needs to find a hiding place from you. Relax, you are doing fine. :thumbsup

Momma Squirrel
09-06-2007, 10:29 AM