PDA

View Full Version : squirrel with respiratory infection -- no access to antibiotic

RebeccaBauer
05-28-2020, 01:07 PM
Greetings. This is my first time posting. I have very limited experience caring for injured animals. A few weeks ago I rescued an injured squirrel and have been caring for it. Recently it developed a respiratory issue. Runny nose. Labored breathing. Lump on chest the size of a cherry. He eats and drinks well and moves around in a limited way because of damaged legs. His physical injuries are definitely improving. He is very alert and he eats when presented with food -- nuts, fruit, avocado etc. However, the respiratory infection seems stubborn and serious. He had a very bad infestation of flees that we treated yesterday with Zodiac spray. It seems to now be under control. Our research suggests that a broad spectrum antibiotic like Baytryl is the go-to treatment for respiratory infections, however, we have no access to a vet and the local wildlife rescue centre cannot help us, as they don't seem to have access to drugs.

I'm wondering what I can do in this situation. Are there treatments that do not require a prescription? Appreciate any help.

Spanky
05-28-2020, 02:28 PM
The human equivalent to Baytril is Cipro (Ciprofloxacin): These would be best for a respiratory infection, but augmentin, clavamox and bactrim (SMP/TMZ) may also help.

I would check the medicine cabinet, ask family, friends and neighbors if they have any antibiotics. If you find something, even if not the above, list it and someone will advise of efficacy in URI treatment.

There is a product called Fish Flox you can buy OTC in some fish (pet) stores here in the USA.... that is Ciprofloxacin.

Ozzy2019
05-29-2020, 05:39 AM
Are u close to sc or can travel to sc. Cornerstone vet practice in columbia sc will see squirrels without someone being a rehabber.

Spanky
05-29-2020, 02:21 PM