PDA

View Full Version : Help with syringes

Candyanne2019
09-14-2019, 11:04 AM
I live in a town where there is only one vet's office and they didn't even k ow what a feeding syringe was when I asked. They told me that " the petag baby bottle should work." Ummm.... They didn't know anything about anything I asked for my Thumbelina. I was shocked to know more than them. And I've only been reading on this subject for two weeks. I am having problems with her eating/bloating/and it takes me 45 minutes every feeding as I can only find a huge syringe here(one for medicines for human infants. I have to drop it onto my palm and she eats it from there but she is so franticly trying to suck and I have nothing for her in that sense but she is finally gaining weight now. I go thru
4 times the formula because of the way I have to feed her but it's my only choice.😕any suggestions. This is my first attempt at raising a squirrel because I accidentally found her and could not bear to watch her die. 🙈There are no rehabbers that I am aware of in my area. Please, any help or advice would be amazing!!!

RockyPops
09-14-2019, 11:43 AM
Hello Candyanne2019,

You may have better luck with a response if you back up one thread and start your own thread about your baby.
Someone will see it here as well but may get a faster response on a new thread.
Good luck!

CritterMom
09-14-2019, 12:14 PM
Candyanne, go to your local pharmacy and speak to one of the pharmacists. Tell a fib and say you are trying to feed a baby guinea pig, and ask if you can get a 1cc or at the biggest, a 3cc syringe to use to feed because anything else if too big. Most pharmacies have a drawerfull of syringes of different sizes. I did this for my first squirrel.

THEN, order some, along with nipples from a source like www.henryspets.com.