PDA

View Full Version : NEW member- have baby squirrel questions

hansen3800
08-22-2007, 01:33 AM
I am new here, I am glad to have found this site. I have a baby squirrel that fell out of a tree with one of his siblings the other one didn't survive the fall. This little guy was injured, a few scratches and a cut on his head. He laid under the tree for 6 hours but mom did not come to get him. I have had him a week today. I started him on pedialye the first day and he has been on esibilac ever since, right now he drinks between 3 to 4cc's every 3 hours. I am going to try to post a picture I was wondering if anyone could tell me approx how old he is? Also could you tell me what kind of squirrel he is? I can tell he is male he has all the parts (lol). You seem like a wonderful and caring group here, I am so glad to have found you!

jules
08-22-2007, 05:14 AM
:Welcome
Im new to this too, but for the past week I have received so much good advice from everyone here - I know Benji and I could not have got by without them:bowdown
There will be someone more experienced than me along soon to answer your questions, but for now, just Make sure he is kept warm at all times. They should feel warmer than your hand. There body temp is usually about 99'f.
And never feed him if he is cold - warm him up first!
Sounds like your doing a good job:thumbsup
Sorry if im telling you what you already know, but its better to be safe than sorry:)
Bye for now:wave123

thundersquirrel
08-22-2007, 05:51 AM
i do believe that is a grey squirrel. he looks around...three weeks old, i'd say. it would help to have a scale- maybe put your thumb next to him?

but i'm pretty sure it's a grey. white belly with no black stripe, long tail, mottled colors- grey squirrel.

more rehabbers will be on soon, i have to go to college now but i'll be on later!

island rehabber
08-22-2007, 08:22 AM