PDA

View Full Version : Baby Wash

Adalisk
08-18-2007, 08:11 PM
Hey all, I just have a few questions - Which is a given, I suppose, Since I'm here and all =P lol

So, I'm completely new to this, So far, I've kept them alive for Six Days, And they actually seem to be rather healthy now, which surprised me, to be honest. They weren't in great shape when I first laid eyes upon them, and I was rather worried there for a while...It's amazing what a little body heat and a bit of TLC will get ya - That, and I know they must be little troopers =P
Anyway, I was just wondering, my Babies are about 3 - 4 weeks old, their eye's are still shut and they're moving around/climbing rather frequently now (As wobbly as it may be) Lately they seem to be getting a bit of Dry/matted fur, on small parts of them, So I was just wondering, what would be the best way to go about fixing this? The Q-tip method, perhaps? or a small washcloth?
All and any tips are welcome! Thank you for your time, be well and take care.

thundersquirrel
08-19-2007, 12:38 AM
hmm....i don't see a problem with washing them, but if the problem persists afterwards, you may need to consider a skin problem, maybe mange or a fungus. but we'll start with a bath. :)

if i were you....i would try using just warm water at first, no soap. i would hold the baby in a warm towel (firm but gentle, of course) and pour the water in a small stream along their back. once they're wet enough, you can use the towel they're in to kind of rub them, and dry them off a little. make sure they're really dry or they have a very warm snuggle place afterwards, because a wet baby most often turns into a cold baby.

i'd avoid their faces, but if their faces are really dirty, dip a paper towel in the warm water and gently rub their cheeks.

be prepared for them to not like it, but i think a lot of that is based on them feeling safely in place in your hands.