PDA

View Full Version : found a baby squirrel

jeanie59
08-15-2007, 09:25 PM
we have squirrels which we put nuts out for daily they sit on the picnic table and wait for me. today no squirrels were around which is very strange a little later today we went up in the yard and found a baby suirrel on the ground not moving too well we waited all day as we checked him and no mom came to his aid he was moving but not much,evening came and I was not about to leave him outside to die so I picked it up and had nothing but baby formula to feed him I used to be a vet tech and had some small syringes so I did feed him a little formula, he even moved his hands trying to knead the mother while I fed him, he then started moving more and crawled across my leg and snuggled in my shirt his eyes are not opened yet but does have fur I beleive him to be about 3-4 weeks old. My question is should I feed him more formula tonight or wait till morning and get pedialyte and esbilac, I dont want him to starve before then. My boyfriend just called and he said he will bring me some pedialyte home in 2 hours so I should just wait for that but any input will be appreciated.

Mars
08-15-2007, 09:55 PM
Best to get him on the pedialyte. Trust me he won't strave and if he is emaciated he won't be able to digest formula anyways at first. Concentrate on rehydration. A baby left alone all day is going to need fluid replacement first. Only after you are sure his gut is working and is fully hydrated can you then move first to a diluted esbilac for several feeding and slowly bring him up to full strength formula. Depending on the condition of the baby it can take up to 3 days to come up to full formula. Watch his stool and pee. the pee should be nearly clear with no odor and the poop soft well formed golden brown nugets. The first poop will be dark but once on formula they will lighten.

Hope this helps.:)

jeanie59
08-15-2007, 10:21 PM