PDA

View Full Version : Hi! Eastern chipmunk (Invader Zim) - maybe a bit chubby?

dalaeck
07-19-2018, 09:57 AM
Hi everyone,

I rescued and adopted a tiny chipmunk when his eyes and ears were not even fully open - found him wandering half blind and dying on a bike path about to be run over.
My little foundling has since grown into a healthy, slightly bitey, often cute adult male chipmunk, he's 2 years old now.
I have had many pets over the years, and I'm an expert when it comes to rabbits but these critters are clearly very different.
Zim has everything a chipmunk could care for, and over the past ~6 months or so I think he might be having a bit too much of a good thing.

Diet information for Eastern chipmunks is not readily available and to be honest although I knew about them I haven't followed squirrel boards posted guidelines to the letter.
Zim refuses the all rodent blocks from manufacturers available here in Canada, instead of hard blocks or baked blocks he gets whole foods.
Zim has a hoard of hazelnuts and almonds, and I've balanced the calcium with daily sesame seeds and quite a bit of fruit instead. In fall he gets a hoard of local acorns and he goes through those over the fall/winter rather quickly, it's the hazelnuts he keeps as his mainstay.
He loves oranges (again calcium/phosphor positive) and most berries, yams and surprisingly rather recently lettuce.
I recently purchased some Henry's blocks and I'm going to try them out on him, as well as an MBD kit as a better-safe-then-sorry purchase.
Zim is fairly active from what I can tell from other internet accounts, loves his wheel and large cage/condo, but like all in-house munks he does sleep the majority of the day.

Rather than take potentially bad angled pictures of him I've linked a video of one of his play sessions: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rx2eTGLJ10Y&feature=youtu.be
What are your opinions? Fat munk? Or just good sized male and healthy?