PDA

View Full Version : MAGGOTS ears/nostrils

hazel
08-06-2007, 04:53 AM
Got a little boy squirrel today - fly eggs in fur and maggots in rectum and in prepuce - Believe all that is under control - BUT - he has maggots in his nostrils and in his ears. He has a lot of spirit - I'd really like to try to save him (I've been up all night).
Read about Capstar or oral Ivermectin. I'm a vet tech and have access to all in a few hours.

ADVICE ????

I'm keeping him warm/LRS sub-q/oral dextrose/flower remedies.

Thanks.

squirrelfriend
08-06-2007, 05:47 AM
Wow, poor guy. I don't know what to tell you except to keep picking as many off as you can. Especially in the nose so that they don't block his breathing. There might be some meds that you can use to get rid of them but I wil leave that to the rehabbers on here to give you better advice on. Good luck with him. I hope that he does well.

island rehabber
08-06-2007, 06:13 AM
Poor baby!! CAPSTAR is excellent for killing internal maggots and can be given to the smallest critters -- ivermectin is good, too but Capstar is a miracle worker in this department!! Good luck and please keep us posted!!

Gabe
08-06-2007, 06:27 AM
I agree with IR, Capstar works great for maggots, internal and external.
Good Luck with the little guy.

Critter_Queen
08-06-2007, 08:22 AM
Also, using a syringe with a slip tip to suck the maggots out gently can help to clean them out.

Beware, maggots in the anal opening are a very bad sign. :grouphug

thundersquirrel
08-06-2007, 05:28 PM
and just a hint.....

as soon as you think you've found all the maggots and eggs....

you haven't!

i like to use a q-tip to gently brush against the baby's fur. look everywhere! it's a tedious process, and usually the baby starts to fuss before the end, but maggots can be, and often are, deadly.

good luck. please keep us updated.

Squirrelygirl63
08-06-2007, 06:33 PM