PDA

View Full Version : New to this site I have a question about juvenile squirrels

Lisasquirrel
05-10-2018, 07:58 PM
Hello! My name is Lisa and I have been working with squirrels for about 4 years now. I don't take in too many at a time usually only 2-3 is my favorite number. I love working with squirrels more than people! ha! anyway I really enjoy what I do I also work as a vet tech. I hope to one day just focus on wildlife but for right now I am trying to save money to buy my own house. It will only get better from there I am hoping. Maybe I could win the lottery and open up a wildlife clinic! Dare to dream right!
So anyway I have been looking around and I am not sure how I can ask my question. I would like to know if anyone has any experience putting juvenile squirrels together. I have never needed to try that until now. I have 2 females that are about releasing age. And I had the animal control officer in my town bring me another male squirrel that was alone and underweight/ dehydrated actually at a daycare going up to the kids outside. I think something happened to mom you know the drill. Anyway sorry if I can't ask my question here but like I said I am having trouble understanding the site. But I would like to introduce the singleton to my 2 but I am not sure it will go well due to their age BUT I am not sure.
Thank you!

cava
05-10-2018, 08:18 PM
Hi there, thanks for all you do. It usually doesn't go well once they are that old. You know, they're not pack animals and tolerate one another but in the wild they're solitary. Sibs and young ones who have grown up together sometimes start to fight as they get into that age, some don't. Seems to me that those who have tried it haven't had luck. Maybe someone here will have had a different experience and will advise differently.

Can you hang on to him inside while you release the gals, then get him out a month later, something like that? Or even build a "singleton" release cage next to the gals' cage?