PDA

View Full Version : Need advice on baby!

JaLoCarney
08-29-2017, 02:27 PM
Hi all..

I have read just about every thread on this site this morning but am just worried that maybe I should be doing more I sure could use some advice!

My son found a "dead" baby squirrel, while feeding our neighbor's cats, on Sunday morning. He showed me a pic, I confirmed that it was a squirrel and then I didn't think any more of it. The neighbors have four cats, and we were having a hurricane, so I just assumed maybe the baby blew out of the nest and one of the cats brought it on the patio as a gift for my son.
Monday morning, he came running in the house, saying the baby wasn't dead. I didn't believe it was possible, but he was! Ya'll, this baby was soaked and felt like an ice cube. He is skinny and seems very dehydrated to me. (I'm a nurse) We wrapped him up and found a rehab site to learn what to do. Here's our situation so far:
*Baby was gently dried and warmed and is kept on a low heating pad, under a towel. He feels warm to the touch and does squirm a bit when we hold him.
*We started him on warm Pedialyte yesterday around this time. He didn't take much at all, to speak of, but I knew anything was better than nothing. Also, I wasn't really prepared, so we made do with a Chemistry pipette. (unused) Today he's taken quite a bit more and I now have a proper nipple and syringe.
*Today, he is a bit more active...mostly pulling with his front paws and nuzzling his face into my hand or blanket, so it seems like he's searching for a nipple to me.
Here's my main question...yesterday he weighed 68 grams. Today, even after some fluids, he weighs 65 grams. Even though I don't feel he's 100% rehydrated, should I start trying some formula? I absolutely can't believe he made it overnight in that hurricane and then survived the night last night I so badly want this poor baby to make it! Please advise.