PDA

View Full Version : do squirrels remember you

masheilm
07-02-2007, 05:32 PM
I am new to this, I am a first timer, so bare with me, I found my first squirrel in February, and according to the rehabber he was only about 1 or 2 weeks old, my vet gave me the rehabbers number and she helped me a lot, taking all my calls, and believe me there was a lot, giving me advice and everything. Anyway, he has been outside coming and going for about a month now, but still very scared of other squirrels, but last thursday he didn't come home that evening. At first I didn't worry too much, because he has stayed out all night 5 or 6 times before, and we have seen him in the trees and he would just get scared and freeze up and stay there all night, but was always there the next morning, and he would sleep all day and only come out of his house maybe 1 or 2 times to eat, but anyway, I haven't seen him since thursday morning, and I am sick with worry something has happened to him. Is it normal for them to stay gone and then come back? and would he know me after this long? There is a famale in season I saw her that evening with every squirrel in the woods chasing her, is it possible he would be interested and him only 4 or 5 months old? and if he is will he come back? please reply!

susanw
07-02-2007, 05:47 PM
It is mating season here, or should have just ended. It's possible he found himself a little female. Do you put out food for him? Ours seem to come back for awhile and than stop comming, I figure they are busy building nest and finding their place in the wild. I worry about all the ones we release, but then I think that they are all happy being free.:D

Buddy'sMom
07-02-2007, 06:00 PM