PDA

View Full Version : Questions?

bridge01
07-02-2007, 12:43 PM
Hi everyone! I'm totally new to this incredible board and am very grateful to be a member! I have to agree 100% that the information I have learned through these amazing members and their forums has been priceless.

My first question is my baby "Peanut" is 2 1/2 years old and a completely "indoor" pet. I had no idea about Full Spectrum Lighting so I am running out TODAY to purchase one! About a week ago my precious begain exibiting signs of MBD (I'm totally assuming here). He sleeps constantly, won't go down any of his cage levels not even to go to his food dishes on the bottom level. He eats just fine from my hand and drinks fine and bathroom business is just fine also. Most likely you are all right in that he has a calcium deficiency. I am going to do EVERYTHING in my power to make this right and get my baby back to his happy lively loving self. Sorry to digress...my question is which 'full spectrum light' should I purchase? The pet store said they had different 'bulbs' for a light. Now I'm confused as to what temperature I need if I need a certain temperature at all.

Can anyone help me? I would appreciate any and "all" assistance I can receive as quickly as possible.

Thanks to all!
Bridge (& Peanut):thankyou

drakkonia
07-02-2007, 01:07 PM
Hi bridge, and welcome! You've come to the right place to get all of your squirrel questions answered, even some questions you didn't even know you had!

What kind of squirrel is Peanut? I'm assuming grey, but I don't know why. :rotflAnd yes, if you could tell us exactly what he eats, that would be a big help to the rehabbers and knowledgeable people here. As for the bulb, Gammas knows a lot more about them than I do, but nutz4squirls mentioned recently that UVB rays are the most important for the squirrel in order to metabolize that calcium, and that those don't come from regular bulbs or sunlight through a window. Hope this helps.

bridge01