PDA

View Full Version : New here. Need advise.

Amartel3
01-11-2017, 05:41 PM
Hello everyone,
I'm new to tsb. I have been helping wildlife since I was a child and have always loved squirrels. I have rehabbed some squirrels with successs. I currently have a four month old female I am trying to release. She was by herself when found. And I was unable to find another rehabber to take her so she would be with other squirrels. She was released from an outside cage that she was in for about three weeks before release. The first squirrel she saw attacked her. She left for three nights then returned to the outdoor cage. Now she doesn't want to go very far from the cage. She comes to me or to the cage when she hears or sees a squirrel. I really wanted her to be a free squirrel. Now I'm not sure what to do to get her to venture out. Any advise would be appreciated. Thank you for adding me to the board.

CritterMom
01-11-2017, 06:29 PM
She may just be having a little temporary "failure to launch." At 16 weeks she still has plenty of time. Her bad experience probably frightened her a lot, too. If she is happy inside the release cage she can just hang in there for a while longer and work on her courage. If she is not happy in the release cage I would bring her in for another week or so and then start again. Singles can be slower to acclimate and cling to their mom. That may end up being a benefit, because it may mean that she will choose to stay close to you and allow you to be part of her wild life as she grows and has her own families.

Nancy in New York
01-11-2017, 06:56 PM