PDA

View Full Version : Regarding the use of Ibuprofren

Squeekhart
01-10-2017, 05:28 PM
Hi, I am new this month. I am not a professional in the medical or vet fields. (I do much personal research on human nutrition, naturopath remedies in my free time, however.)

Just in case this has not been covered: A lot of folks do not realize how hard ibuprofren (pain reliever) can be on kidneys in humans. I mention this, for if it is harsh on our systems, it may possibly be rough on a squirrel's system also? Someone with vet skills can verify or nullify this.

Even though it is right on the label that if a human takes a dose of advil/ibuprofren, it is vital to do so with 2 (TWO!) glasses (16 ounces!) of water. The failure to do this can result in serious kidney troubles.

I recall in the university dorms, us gals would get PMS and just down Advil for cramps. The warning to always take doses with 2 cups of water never seems important until folks get older, but it makes a huge health difference.

At any rate. I was thinking: Perhaps any ibuprofren dosing for a squirrel ought be accompanied by some hydrating also, to help alleviate or prevent any possible renal/kidney trouble? Maybe dilute the drops?

If this is an overworked subject, please excuse the redundancy. I did not see a post on this yet, and am interested in the advice of a professional.

I wish everyone and their squirrels all of the best.

P.S. I know for me as a human, cranberries actually are great for kidney issues. Fresh or fresh frozen ones blended in a smoothie with some yogurt add a light, sweet, quenchy flavor. I wonder if squirrels can eat cranberries, or if giving a cranberry product can help a squirrel with kidney issues the way it helps a human? Just wondering. :)

SammysMom
01-10-2017, 06:30 PM
Thank-you for your post and your information! It is a good reminder to all of us! As for cranberries, I give them every day when they are available at the grocery store. :w00t

CritterMom
01-10-2017, 06:42 PM