PDA

View Full Version : Michigan HELP needed ASAP Black Squirrel with bad leg

Barry919
12-20-2016, 12:44 PM
Last night I saw a Black squirrel, that I have been feeding all summer, hanging from the fence by his back leg. He had twisted himself several times before I could get to him. i succeeded in freeing him but the leg has a spiral fracture and the flesh is twisted in a knot. I have called all the vets in Cadillac and none want to help. The DNR said just let him loose and he will adapt. I asked about the leg and he said just let it go he will adapt, Well, I am NOT doing that. I have never attempted to keep a squirrel as a pet. Where do I start?

Scott
12-20-2016, 12:52 PM
You start exactly where you are right now, at the Squirrel Board. I am not an expert but there are several on the site that will be communicating shortly with you, I promise. Just stay close by your computer. Do you have it in captivity right now? If so, what type of container is it in? Does it have water?

Barry919
12-20-2016, 12:59 PM
I have him in a cat carrier with the door open in a large dog crate. He has food and water.

Barry919
12-20-2016, 01:24 PM
A picture of the injured guy

DarkLies212
12-20-2016, 01:39 PM
Give him a bunch of old tshirts or fleece to snuggle in. His nails can and will get caught in the towels.

Put a heating pad on low half under the cage he's in that way he can crawl off if he gets too hot.

Do you have ANY medication? Infant ibuprofin will be needed for the pain. Meds aren't my specialty at all, just getting a list for those with way more experience than me.

Offer some water as dehydration sets in quickly.

What foods have you offered?

How big are the holes in the dog kennel? If he gets out of the safety of the carrier, he may get out of the kennel if it's like a normal dog kennel..

Keep him away from any other pets and loud noises. Keep the room dark to help calm him.

Also - THANK YOU for taking him/her in and not just letting him/her adapt :hug

Barry919