PDA

View Full Version : sad and depressed...

Pam's Squirt
06-26-2007, 05:21 PM
Hello. I'm new at this but I 'm so glad to find other squirrel lovers.

I found The Squirrel Board while searching for some bit of comfort in regard to my adorable, almost 2 year old male grey squirrel named "Squirt", accidental death this past weekend. It was horrible, and it was my fault. I am sooo heartbroken.

I raised my little Squirt from an infant. He had fallen out of his nest and was wandering around on the ground blind, as his eyes had yet to open, when he was scooped up and taken home by a "soft mouth hound dog". The dogs owner rescued him and called me. Amazingly, he only suffered a broken leg which, according to the Vet, had already set itself with a tiny cast made of his own calcium! I have raised many squirrels in my life, and loved them all...and released them all. However, I loved this one so much that I kept finding excuses to keep and love him just a bit longer. And, you know what? He loved being kept!!! I spared no time or money when it came to his care and well being, and he truly had a rich and happy life. But, sadly, on Saturday morning it all ended when I failed to secure a pet gate that kept my dog off the carpet. Squirt climbed the gate playing as he has always done but this time the unsecured gate fell over onto the floor with my little Squirt underneath it. I discoved the horrible and shocking accident a couple of minutes later. Apparently, the wooden frame hit his head, causing a lethal head injury. There was a pool of blood beneath his head. I pray that it was it was painless.

I have not been well since the accident. I took such care to give him the best possible care, and love. Then I, of all people, caused his death. I am sooo sorry Squirt. My heart aches for you everyday.